Devotional

Morning Devotional: Do What You Hear

But he answered them, “My mother and my brothers are those who hear the word of God and do it.” – Luke 8:21 ESV

I’m not perfect … I’m a sinner … I’m human … I make mistakes.

These are just examples of excuse/reasons I use to justify my sin.  Most of the time its sin that could’ve been avoided if would’ve applied what I leaned by reading God’s word.  In the story right before Jesus said that line someone came over to tell Jesus that his mother and brothers were there and that is how Jesus responded.  I remember first reading this story and thinking, “well Jesus that was rude”. Especially to brush off your mother, I couldn’t ever dream to do that.  But I see now that Jesus as with everything he does was teaching US something.

We can’t claim to be “Friends of God”, “Children of God ”  and  “Followers of Christ”  if we don’t DO the simple things he tell us to.  Plain and Simple, easy as that.  This story also reminds of  Matthew 7:21-23;

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.22 On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and cast out demons in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’23 And then will I declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.’

Harsh right?  But this is what we face when we do not Do what is in God’s word.  When we read but don’t understand, when we “follow” but don’t surrender our life to him.  Really examine you walk with God ( I will) and ask yourself, “How am I responding to God’s word?” Do I merely agree with it or do I really obey it as well?”

 

Lord  forgive me of all my sins, help me to be a doer of your word all the time and not only when its convenient to me.  Allow every time I hear your word or read it for it to fall on good soil.  The kind  of soil that produces good fruit. Bless everyone who took the time to read this post and help them seek you more. I Love You. In JEsus name. Amen

 

God Bless,

M.Anjel

4 thoughts on “Morning Devotional: Do What You Hear

  1. Pingback: Love Joy & JESUS « THE LORD'S POET

  2. Pingback: 120814–George Hach’s Inner Disciplines Journal–Tuesday |

  3. Pingback: Whose Will (11) « The Fragrant Oil Manna

  4. Pingback: BE AN ENCOURAGER IN THE NAME OF JESUS « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com

Leave a comment