Book Reviews

Book Review: Right Where I Belong

Krista does it again

 Right Where I Belong

Krista McGee

December 11, 2012

Thomas Nelson;Young Adult Fiction

320 pages

5 Stars

Goodreads

BOOK DESCRIPTION

How do you find your place in the world?

Tired of watching her father flit from one wife to another and having formed a true bond with her most recent stepmother, Natalia decides to move with her from Spain to Florida when the divorce papers are finalized.

There are a couple of things Natalia knows for sure: 1) She’s being groomed to take over her father’s international business. Success is expected. 2) There is no such thing as true love. Just look at her father. 3) Her stepmother’s faith is real. And Natalia wants more of it.

Being in a new place, though, has a way of challenging one’s preconceived notions. Natalia is still searching but before it’s over, she hopes to discover right where she belongs.

MY TAKE 

Krista McGee is easily becoming one of my favorite authors!  Every-time I pick up one of her books I always leave with a kick of humility and a feeling of God’s love.  I’m getting out of the habit of believing in coincidences  and starting to realise its just God trying to get my attention.  It’s no secret to people who know me that fulfilling the purpose God gave me is my top priority, but here is the kicker I don’t know what that is lol.  So I’ve been praying and journaling and begging for a while now.  I was given the opportunity to review A Purpose Drive Life by Rick Warren (review) and right after this book came along and what do you know it’s about purpose.  I’m a firm believer that God has a sense of humor.

In the story Natalia leaves her home Spain to follow her ex-stepmother to the United States after her father files for divorce.  Now can I just say I don’t think I would have been that bold.  Her stepmother Maureen is the one who introduced her to Christ and was the only person besides her pastor that she could talk to about her faith.  As soon as Natalia’s feet hit American soil she is instantly filled with doubt an looks to God to confirm her decision.  And as time progresses her stepmother goes into depression and starts to question her on faith.  Such a confusing time for Natalia.

In the midst of her home life she is starting at a new school in her SENIOR year of high school, her parents are hounding her to decide what kind of career she wants to pursue and there is this guy (always a guy) that she likes but will not purse (I currently know the feeling).  She is afraid that she will fall for a man like her father that will not stay committed, so she’s sworn off dating . But one missions trip to Costa Rica changed not only her life but the life of all the characters involved.

As usual you get no spoilers from me, but I can say I loved the book!!!

Extras:

  • Addy and Kara from “First Date” and “Starring Me” make an appearance.
  • The story is based on the book of Ruth
  • If you have not read any of Krista’s other books please do yourself a favor and read them
  • Great book for Teens/Young Adults

Favorite Quotes:

“Better to be sleep deprived than God deprived.”

“There will be times when your faith is shaken, when you don’t understand what is happening.  Remember that God has plans for you. And those plans are good. Trust him. He will never, ever let you down. He will never leave you.”

“The trial we face in our lives help shape us into the person Christ wants us to be.”

“… your heart is broken. Your spirit is broken.  There’s no shame in getting help so you can heal.  That’s what the body of Christ is for right?”

God Bless,

M.Anjel

I received this book free from the publisher through the netgalley  book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Leave a Reply

