Book Reviews

Book Review: A Woman’s Guide to Reading the Bible in a Year

A life-changing journey into the heart of God

A Woman’s Guide to Reading the Bible in a Year

Diane Stortz

January 1, 2013

Bethany House Publishers; Devotional

144 pages

3 Stars

Goodreads 

 

 

BOOK DESCRIPTION

A Unique, Relational Way for Women to Read the Bible in a Year

Many women feel overwhelmed at the thought of reading the Bible in a year. Diane Stortz found that it is not only possible but life-changing. Her journey from initial reluctance to excitement about reading the Bible will inspire readers to try it for themselves.
Part of a women’s group that read through the Bible each year for ten years, the author discovered the value of reading the Bible to get to know God better rather than viewing it only as a book to study. This guide will give women tools to read and discuss the Bible together, drawing them closer to God and each other.
Includes a week-by-week reading plan, discussion guide, lists of what to look for, and motivational quotes.

MY TAKE 

As the year closes (Wow, seems like it just started) many of our devotionals will also be coming to an end.  With that a new crop of devotionals are ready to make a place in your heart for 2013.  Personally I am very picky about the devotional I chose. More than anything it has to feel intimate, not so much with the book but my experience with it.  Some devotionals have a very sterile, carbon copy feel to it and I just don’t see how I can go a whole year with a book that doesn’t move me or motivate me to grow in Christ.

With A Woman’s Guide to Reading the Bible I have a lukewarm feeling to about it (50/50).  My general feeling is that it would be a great book for a womans bible study group.  At the end of each week there is “Share the Journey” where you share how you experienced God’s heart in a verse or revelation.  This is a perfect discussion opener, you can share what you learned and it will help the other group members grow (iron sharpens iron). It also leaves open a time for questions, so if you didn’t really understand a passage this is a perfect setting to get ask. Which leads me into my next point.  The devotional was designed to be read alone or with a group, if you chose to read it alone you might feel a little lonely.  That was my main issue with the book.

I’ve been searching for a group study for my friends so this is definitely on the list.

Things I Liked

  • The book is broken down in weekly reading sessions with an intro for each week.  It also gives you checkpoints to really pay attention to while reading.
  • I like the information given on the background of the bible.
  • Quotes!!! I Love a good quote and  there is one each week.

Favorite Quotes/Lesson Learned:

“…you become the company you keep.  Being in the Word is how we “hang out” with Jesus”

 

God Bless,

M.Anjel

I received this book free from the publisher Bethany House Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Woman’s Guide to Reading the Bible in a Year

Leave a Reply

