Book Reviews

Book Review: Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittemore

 Angel Eyes ( #1 of the Angel Eyes Series)

Shannon Dittemore

May 29, 2012

Thomas Nelson; Chrisitian Fiction

336 pages

5 Stars

Goodreads

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Once you’ve seen, you can’t unsee.

Brielle went to the city to chase her dreams and found tragedy instead. She’s come home to shabby little Stratus, Oregon, to live with her grief and her guilt . . . and an incredible, numbing cold she can’t seem to shake.

Jake’s the new guy at school. The boy next door with burning hands and an unbelievable gift that targets him for corruption.

Something more than fate has brought them together. An evil bigger than both of them lurks in the shadows nearby, hiding in plain sight. Two angels stand guard, unsure what’s going to happen. And a beauty brighter than either Brielle or Jake has ever seen is calling them to join the battle in a realm where all human choices begin.

A realm that only angels and demons—and Brielle—can perceive.

MY TAKE 

Ok I am a big fan of Urban Fantasy, especially if there is a mention of supernatural worlds with demons and angels.  Angel Eyes gave me that with a Christian view.  It tells the story of  a girl gaining sight to the Celestial (supernatural) when she moved back home after experiencing a great lost.  She meets this new boy and that’s when her life started to change.

As you know I’m not big on spoilers, so I won’t tell you what happens after that.  What I can say is the book does a great job of keeping the reader engaged in the story.  Although I’ve had the book for a while it only took me a day to read it.  This is a YA (Young Adult) book but there isn’t too much romance where you feel you’re reading a romance hover but just enough to make you want more. I loved the extra back story and details on satan and his fallen angels.  Maybe I’m the only one but I think the story of Lucifer falling from grace and taking other angels with him is interesting and I enjoyed Shannon’s interpretation of it.

For this to be a fiction I learned so much about God and his personality, fear and what i looks like, and about believing a power that you don’t always understand.  I believe this book made my faith a little stronger.

All in All it was well deserving of my 5 stars and I would gladly recommend it to anyone to read, especially if they like sci-fi and urban fantasy. Part 2 Broken Wings does not come out until Feb 2013 and it has me waiting with anxiety.  Great job Shannon on your first novel!!

Favorite Quotes:

“Our spirits will outlive our physical bodies, so its our spirits we have to take care of.”

“A righteous God isn’t bound by time. He has an eternity to make things right/”

“But your sin—no matter how dark a stain you think it has left—can never keep you apart from God. Only your stubborn will can do that. ”

“But it starts with trusting that you don’t know everything. That God does.  That His decisions are better than yours, even when they hurt. You do that for a while, and you realize that regardless of what He allows, God’s our best hope. Our only Hope.”

God Bless,

M.Anjel

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittemore

  1. What a fun way to wake up, Mychele! And what a beautiful name you have. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review Angel Eyes. I’m so glad you enjoyed it and can’t wait to share Broken Wings with you. God bless!

Leave a Reply

