Book Reviews

Book Review: 25,000 Mornings by Fay Rowe

25,000 Mornings 25,000 Mornings

Fay Rowe

January 23,2012

West Bow; Devotional

180 pages

3 Stars

Goodreads 

Book Description

In a relaxed, chat-over-coffee style, award-winning author of Keepers of the Testimony and Smooth Stones & Promises Fay Rowe’s third book and first devotional, 25,000 Mornings, offers up daily portions of ancient, Biblical wisdom as it encourages, challenges and sometimes amuses. In her first devotional, Fay Rowe writes for both the young and young-at-heart on varied subjects such as: starting out and starting over; believing words; resting on the rock; talking to God; never giving up; being yourself and living with people; and clocks and calendars.

My Take 

Lets start with the things I liked. The cover of the book is beautiful.  I’m a simple girl at heart and clear, clean graphics really draw me in.  The devotionals are not titled by day of the month.  Which is great because you can jump around to any title you feel may be good for you on that day, and it won’t make you feel bad by pointing out that you may have missed a day or two.  Unless you never skip a devotional then disregard that last sentence.  I also like the style in which she is writing.  There’s the feeling that she’s talking to you over a glass of tea, coffee or wine (which ever you pick) and sharing with you stories.

Now, what I didn’t like.  Me personally I like my devotionals to have more of a scriptural focus.  And with Fay’s devotional its more of, here’s a story and then a scripture that goes with it at the end.  I didn’t care for that approach.

All in all, I think this is a good devotional, it might make a better secondary or just a morning encouragement.

 I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
One thought on “Book Review: 25,000 Mornings by Fay Rowe

Leave a Reply

