Christianity / Devotional / Faith / God / Lessons / Prayer / Reflection

What’s in a Word: Abide?

20110729-092650.jpg

Hey Everyone,

Sometimes I read and come across a word I don’t know the meaning to.  And when I’m too lazy to look up the definition I try to use context clues to find the meaning.  But today in my quiet time with God (something I haven’t done in a while, which I desperately needed) I was reading this scripture,

” If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you. (John 15:7 NKJV)”

I reread it a couple of times and I couldn’t get over the word abide. Now if I were being my normal lazy self I would have concluded that abide means in. So if I’m “in” God and the word is “in” me I’ll get what I desire, but not only does it not make any sense that isn’t what it means and I want to share some definitions with you that made me more in awe of God.

According to Webster Abide means
1: to wait for
2 a: to endure without yielding: withstand
b: to bear patiently: tolerate
3: to accept without objection
Intransitive verb
1: to remain stable or fixed in a state
2: to continue in a place: sojourn
synonyms see bear, continue

So lets plug in some words shall we?

“If you wait for Me, and My words remain stable in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you.”  

It sounds so comforting and it makes me feel warm inside.  It just shows how faithful God really is, how understanding he is, how loving he is, and how AMAZING he is.

So keep this in mind: Be patient with God, be unmovable, firm in your faith, and strong.  Accept his words without objection (easier said than done) and know that he is God and in control of ALL.  I’m not focusing on the latter end of the scripture because if you don’t get the beginning the end wont make sense either.

 

My Prayer:

Lord, help me to abide in you.  Give me a patient attitude towards you and others.   I want to be unmovable in my faith so I can shake up the world and show your awesome glory.  Let your words meditate in my heart so that I never forget them, and  give me the faith to accept without objection.  I love you and I know you love me.  Amen

 

Be Blessed,

MAnjel

Leave a Reply

