Forgiveness

Strength for the Day: Beyond our Regret

Photo courtesy of mdjunction

“Do not be bitter or angry or mad. Never shout angrily or say things to hurt others. Never do anything evil.32 Be kind and loving to each other, and forgive each other just as God forgave you in Christ.” Eph 4:31-32

I don’t know about you but loving people who hurt me is not always something I want to do.  I don’t want to forgive them because I want them to hurt just as badly if not more than they hurt me.   And then I remember Jesus and he puts a wrench in my thoughts.  How would I feel if he did the same to me when he’s talking to God?  Picture it:  Jesus: Dad(GOD) I really don’t want to forgive Mychele'( insert your name here) this time.  In fact I want her to feel the way I felt when I was beaten, hung then killed.  God: OK

I can’t imagine how hard it was for Jesus to go through everything he did for us.  And if doesn’t think twice about forgiving us why do we think twice about forgiving others?  He doesn’t want us to feel the pain he went through on the cross( that’s why he did it), so why do we want to hurt other people?

Are there people in your life that you have a hard time forgiving?  Think about what they did and compare it to eveything you’ve done against God.  Is it worth holding a grudge? Is it worth God not forgiving you?  If not let it go and ask GOD to help you forgive.

“Grudges are like grenades; it is wise to release them before they destroy you.” Barbara Johnson

God Bless,

MAnjel

Leave a Reply

