Beauty / Reflection

Strength for the Day: The True Beholder of Beauty

Photo courtesy of fortyagency“It is not fancy hair, gold jewelry, or fine clothes that should make you beautiful.  No, your beauty should come from within you- the beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit that will never be destroyed and is very precious to God.” 1 Peter 3:3-4 NCV

How important is the way you look to you?  How far will you go to be “beautiful/handsome?  Do you feel that your beautiful? Why or why not?

I read this scripture and instantly I felt conviction.  I’ve asked myself these questions before, I still ask and sometimes I don’t like the answer or I don’t like what I see when I look at myself.  But I’m looking at myself all wrong ( you probably are too).   Lets not kid ourselves, in our society beauty is based off of appearance and how well put together you are, so of course that is how we tailor ourselves.  We want to fit this mold: nice hair, blemish free face, tight body, great clothes, etc… And to be honest its hard. Not everyone is made to fit a mold We were not made to fit a mold, “Before I made you in your mother’s womb, I chose you. Before you were born, I SET YOU apart for a special work. I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” Jer 1:5.

Do I know that I’m beautiful just the way God made me? Yeah.  Do I know I was made in his image and he doesn’t make junk? Yeah.  So why am I still asking those questions? Because I don’t see me the way God sees me, plain and simple.  The true beholder of  beauty is the one who defined it, the creator himself (GOD).  Maybe (definitely is ) its my sin, and I can’t look past it.  What is it for you? What do you see?  How do you think God sees you?

Here’s a  few things I picked up while asking myself theses questions.

  1. God made us in his image and when he looked at everything he made (including us) he though it was good. Gen 1:26,31
  2. If we are saved God sees righteousness, not our faults.  He sees Jesus who died for our sins, the man who is perfect in every way we are not. 2 Cor 5:21
  3. We are all unique and special.
  4. There is NO standard of beauty.

“You made my whole being; you formed me in my mother’s body. I praise you because you made me in an amazing and wonderful way.What you have done is wonderful.I know this very well. You saw my bones being formed as I took shape in my mother’s body.When I was put together there, you saw my body as it was formed.All the days planned for me were written in your book before I was one day old.” Psa 139;13-16

Be Blessed and Stay Beautiful,

MAnjel!!

Leave a Reply

