Reflection

So If I Love God, I Get What I Want… Right?

Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalms 37:4 

Do you know how many times I’ve read and/or recited that verse to myself when I really wanted something.  I’m laughing as I type this because I was so off.  I thought (and maybe you did too) that If I loved God a lot then he would just give me what I wanted.  He would give me money because I loved Him, give me a husband if I loved Him, I would pass a test, get a job and anything else worldly that I could think of.  I read/recited that verse to myself so many times that I removed what the meaning was and created a definition all my own. I completely missed God.

“To Delight  in someone means to experience great pleasure and joy in his or her presence.  This happens only when we know that person well.  To Delight in the Lord, we must know him better. Knowledge of Gods love for us will indeed give us delight.” Take from the NLT Study Bible Notes

I was nowhere near that.  I wasn’t spending time with God or enjoying him, I was using him.  I didn’t “know” Him at all.

“He is not,as I supposed a means to my end.  Instead he is the desire of my heart.” – Jennifer Dream

Lets reread the verse: Delight yourself in the Lord (PAUSE): spend some time with Him, talk to Him, read His word,lay at His feet.  Allow the Holy Spirit to fill you with so much you become overwhelmed.

,and he will give you the desires of your heart: AND, usually when someone/thing says and it’s in addition to.  So this must mean we already received something.  GOD!! and when we truly understand Him and His love it really is a prize in itself.  So once you’ve  received that he then will bless you with your desires (now hold on don’t get excited yet), not the worldly things you were asking for, although it could possibly be those things.  He will transform your heart in such way that what you really desire is Him.  What you really want is what He wants.  And how can he say no to himself?

Lord, I pray that when I spend time with you I truly take the time to enjoy you. The you will make my heart obedient to your will and that my desires will become what you desire.  Amen

*Note: Spend some time reading the verse repeatedly to yourself.   Ask God to revel his desires and to open your heart to receive them.

God Bless,

M.Anjel

One thought on “So If I Love God, I Get What I Want… Right?

  1. Pingback: Responding To God’s Love « God Speaking

Leave a Reply

